April 21, 2014

Barrington Chamber announces Athena Leadership Award nominees



BARRINGTON – The Women’s Biz Net Council of the Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce has announced that seven women have been nominated for its 2014 Athena Leadership Award. Winners will be named May 29.

Nominees include Bonnie Conte of the Avalon Salon & Day Spa; Marlene Frykman of Aardvark Webworks; Karrie Gibson of Vintage Tech Recyclers; Dee Dee Johnson of Bataille Academie of the Danse; Eleanor Sweet McDonnell of The Remington Group, LLC; Ellaine Sambo-Reyther of BMO Harris Bank; and Jane Svensson Washburn of Barrington Corporate Townhomes.

Those nominees are recognized as exemplary leaders who have achieved excellence in their business or profession, have served the community in a meaningful way, and have actively assisted or mentored other women to help them achieve full leadership potential.

Founded in 1982, Athena International is a women’s leadership organization that has honored more than 6,250 women worldwide.

The public is invited to attend the awards luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. at Biltmore Country Club of North Barrington May 2. Registration begins at 11:30 a.m. and will be followed by a fashion show, luncheon and awards presentation.

Call the Barrington Chamber at 847-381-2525 no later than May 24 to make reservations. Tickets are $35 for Chamber members; $45 for non-members.

Visit for information.